Pete Davis visits Querencia

Pete Davis

Pete Davis came into Querencia while I was working today.

Pete was hit-and-run by a car in December of 2010, and his backpack saved his life. The fleeing driver was never caught. The accident hyperextended his knee (pictured), and now doctors say it needs to be replaced. C3 church pastor Ross Appleton took care of Pete for a while.

Pete’s a nice guy, and he grew up in Richardson (where I did) and traveled to California and back before ending up in Denton. I recognized him from the hit-and-run story, and he said he’s been hit four times in the last year.

It was a treat to take Pete’s photo, because he doesn’t fit the college-only bicycle stereotype.

Some people ride a bike because it’s all they’ve got. Driving is a luxury.

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Pete Davis visits Querencia

  1. […] Pete Davis visits Querencia Bike Denton Pete Davis came into Querencia while I was working today. Pete was hit-and-run by a car in December of 2010, and his backpack saved his life. The fleeing driver was never caught. The accident hyperextended his knee (pictured), and now doctors say it needs to be replaced. C3 church pastor Ross Appleton took care… More […]

  2. Jennifer Lane says:

    Maybe Pete would be willing to present his case to the City Council. I certainly identify. 4 times, though. Wow. It takes guts to get back on the back after these accidents. I can attest to that!

  3. Wow indeed. I’m just starting to bike around Denton again (39 years old – I can identify with the college stereotype, though that was me almost 20 years ago).

    Make me nervous!

Comments are closed.