Fortworthology Goes To Portland

I’ve been to Portland quite a few times, and I really enjoy the transit variety there.  Buses, streetcars, MET train (free in downtown, has bike hooks), tons of bike lanes, and even bike lanes on bridges.  Portland has a “Last Thursday” art-walk in Portland which is now car free, after the city agreed to repeating street closures.  For a Texan, the experience can be pretty overwhelming, and the openness towards multi-modal transit and new urbanism contributes to Portland’s appeal to the creative class.  

There are so many things I enjoy about Portland that they’re hard for me to succinctly articulate.  Lucky for me, Fortworthology has already written a series of articles about Portland, and this one is about cycling in Portland.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Fortworthology Goes To Portland

  1. Thanks for the heads-up on the series.

  2. Tony says:

    I wish the city I live in in Tasmania had more bike lanes, I stick to the footpaths mostly on the way to & from work because the roads are to deadly as most drivers here seem to have the opinion that cyclists shouldn’t be on the road

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 752 other followers

